×

hooray!!! Hey... Thanks!

We won't bug you anymore (for now)

Pope Francis’ Apostolic Journey to Chile and Peru | Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation
S+L logo

Pope Francis’ Apostolic Journey to Chile and Peru

TV Schedule
Online Streaming
Full coverage from CTV
After almost 30 years, the Holy Father will visit these South American countries. Pope Francis will be in the cities of Santiago, Iquique and Temuco in Chile from January 15-18 and from January 18-21 he will visit the cities of Lima, Trujillo and Puerto Maldonado in Peru.

The Pope’s visit to Chile and Peru will be his 22nd Apostolic Trip outside of Italy.

St. Pope John Paul II was in Chile in 1987 and in Peru twice: In 1985 for an apostolic visit and in 1988 for an Eucharistic Congress.




CHILE

This portion of the trip will last three days. The Holy Father will be busy with many activities in three regions.

He will arrive to the capital city of Santiago, in the evening of Monday, January 15. On Tuesday he has six activities, one of which is a Mass at O’Higgins Park and a visit to a Women’s Prison.

On Wednesday, Pope Francis will travel to Temuco where he will again celebrate Mass. That evening he returns to Santiago for a gathering with young people and a visit to the Catholic University.

On Thursday, he will travel to Iquique where there will be a third Mass, followed by the departure ceremony.

PERU

After three days in Chile, on Thursday, January 18, Pope Francis will travel to the city of Lima, the capital city of Peru.

His visit to this country will be marked by a meeting with indigenous peoples of the Amazon in Puerto Maldonado; a visit to the Trujillo neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, which was devastated by heavy floods in January 2017 and prayer before the relics of Peruvian Saints in Lima’s Cathedral. He will celebrate Mass twice: In the city of Trujillo on Saturday, January 20 and on Sunday, January 21 at Las Palmas Air Base in Lima, before his return to Rome that evening.

Salt + Light's Broadcast Schedule

Schedule is subject to change without notice

ALL EVENTS ARE LIVE

Mass at O'Higgins Park

Tuesday, January 16 at 8:30am ET / 5:30am PT
Pope Francis presides at Mass at O’Higgins Park in Santiago, Chile.
Repeat: 8pm ET / 5pm PT and 12:00am ET / 9pm PT

Meeting with Priests, Seminarians and Religious

Tuesday, January 16, at 3:15pm ET / 12:15pm PT
Pope Francis meets with priests, men and women religious, seminarians and novices at the Cathedral of Santiago in Chile.

Mass at Maquehue Airport

Wednesday, January 17 at 8:30am ET / 5:30am PT
Pope Francis presides at Mass at the Maqueque Air Force Base in Temuco, Chile.
Repeat: 8pm ET / 5pm PT and 12:00am ET / 9pm PT

Meeting with young people

Wednesday, January 17 at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
Pope Francis meets with young people at the National Shrine of Maipu in Santiago, Chile.

Visit to the Catholic University

Wednesday, January 17 at 5pm ET / 2pm PT
Pope Francis visits the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile in Santiago.

Mass at Lobito Beach

Thursday, January 18 at 9:30am ET / 6:30am PT
Pope Francis presides at Mass at the Lobito Campus of the Arturo Prat University in Iquique, Chile.
Repeat: 8pm ET / 5pm PT

Meeting with Indigenous People

Friday, January 19 at 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT
Pope Francis meets with people of the Amazon at "Madre de Dios" stadium in Puerto Maldonado, Peru.
Repeat: 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT

Mass at Huanchaco Beach

Saturday, January 20 at 10am ET / 7am PT
Pope Francis presides at Mass at Huanchaco Beach in Trujillo, Peru.
Repeat: 8pm ET / 5pm PT and 12am ET / 9pm PT

Meeting with Priests, Religious and Seminarians

Saturday, January 20 at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
Pope Francis meets with priests, men and women religious, seminarians and novices of northern Peru at Sts. Carlos and Marcelo College Seminary in Trujillo, Peru.

Marian Celebration

Saturday, January 20 at 4:45pm ET / 1:45pm PT
Pope Francis presides over a Marian celebration of Our Lady of La Puerta at the Plaza de Armas in Trujillo, Peru.

Mid-morning Prayer and Visit to Relics

Sunday, January 21 at 9:15am ET / 6:15am PT
Pope Francis joins the contemplative nuns at the Shrine of Our Lord of the Miracles for mid-morning prayer. He then prays before the relics of Peruvian saints in the city's cathedral in Lima, Peru.

Meeting with Bishops and Angelus

Sunday, January 21 at 10:50am ET / 7:50am PT
Pope Francis meets with Peruvian Bishops in the archbishop's residence and then recites the Angelus at the Plaza de Armas in Lima, Peru.

FULL COVERAGE OF POPE FRANCIS'
APOSTOLIC JOURNEY FROM CTV (Spanish)



More Info:
In just 3 days, the Pope will embark on his 22nd Apostolic journey. This time he travels to Chile and Peru where he hopes to bring a message of hope and comfort to people on the margins of society, pa ...read more
S+L’s Matteo Ciofi interviews the Ambassador of Chile to the Holy See, Mr. Francisco Mariano Fernández Amunátegui, about Pope Francis’ upcoming visit. He talks about the expectations, pr ...read more
Pope Francis Addresses Interreligious Meeting for Peace
FacebookTwitter
Pope Francis addressed participants in an Interreligious and Ecumenical Meeting for Peace on Friday, which took place in the Archbishop of Dhaka’s residence on the second day of the Pope’s ...read more
Pope Francis addresses Bangladesh’s bishops
FacebookTwitter
Pope Francis spoke to several bishops of Bangladesh on Friday at the Archbishop of Dhaka’s residence during his Apostolic Journey to Bangladesh. Please find below the official English translatio ...read more
Pope Francis’ homily at Mass of priestly ordination in the Suhrawardy Udyan Park in Dhaka
FacebookTwitter
Pope Francis traveled to the Suhrawardy Udyan Park in Dhaka on Friday, December 1, 2017. Upon his arrival, and after greeting the faithful from the Popemobile, at 10.00 local time (5.00 am, Rome time) ...read more