WATCH LIVE   ·   App   ·   English  ·  Français   ·   中文  

Airport Chaplaincy: “Flying with Faith”

Why does the Catholic Church have a vested interest in chaplaincy at airports? Simply put, providing pastoral care for people on the move is a special concern for the Catholic Church. It is summarized in the two greatest commandments, that being “love of God” and “love of neighbour”. More than that, Airport Ministry is a mission of proclaiming the Good News, a work of evangelization that takes place in airports around the world.

Since 1970, the Toronto Airport Catholic Chaplaincy has been a ministry of the Archdiocese of Toronto, in conjunction with the Pontifical Council for Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People.

Join me for this latest edition of Catholic Focus, as we uncover several airport chaplaincies (one in Toronto, Canada and another in Chicago, Illinois.) Together, we will come to understand the impact and great service they are providing both Catholic and non-denominational travelers.

Let’s go to Church….at the Airport?

Why does the Catholic Church have a vested interest in chaplaincy at airports? Simply put, providing pastoral care for people on the move is a special concern for the Catholic Church. It is summarized in the two greatest commandments, that being “love of God” and “love of neighbour”. More than that, airport ministry is a mission of proclaiming the Good News – a work of evangelization that takes place in airports around the world.

The Toronto Airport Catholic Chaplaincy has been alive and active since the 1970s – the same time the Pontifical Council for Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People was started.

Join us tonight for our newest installment of Catholic FOCUS, as we uncover several airport chaplaincies (one in Toronto, Canada and another in Chicago, Illinois.) Together, we will come to understand the impact and great service they are providing both Catholic and non-denominational travelers.

Wednesday, January 16

7:05 pm ET / 4:05 pm PT:  Catholic FOCUS – Airport Chaplaincy
Repeat: 11:05 pm ET / 8:05 pm PT

Saturday, January 19

7:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm PT:  Catholic FOCUS – Airport Chaplaincy
Repeat: 11:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm PT

-Credit: CNS photo

Benedict in Benin: Day 1 Recap

It has been a whirlwind of a day for Pope Benedict XVI and Vatican officials. They are currently in the midst of the Holy Father’s 22nd apostolic voyage, which is taking place in the small West African nation of Benin.

The Pope left Rome’s Fiumicino Airport around 9:00am (Rome time). During the six-hour flight, he took the opportunity to answer several questions from reporters who were part of the press corps traveling with him.

He landed at Cotonou’s Cardinal Bernardin Gantin International Airport at around 3:00pm, where he was greeted by the President of Benin, Yayi Boni. In a welcoming address to the nation, Pope Benedict touched upon the issue of modernity, as the country continues its transition from its traditional past.
[Read more…]