S+L logo

Newman, Doctor of the Church? - Catholic Focus now online

September 18, 2010
As we count down the hours until Cardinal Newman’s beatification in Birmingham, England, it’s time to take a crash course in just who the Church is honouring. After all, this is the first Mass of beatification that Benedict XVI will personally celebrate during his pontificate. (While canonizations are held in the Vatican, the recent norm has been to proclaim Blesseds in their home country, without the Holy Father.)
In an earlier post, I wrote about Tony Blair’s hope that Newman would also be declared a Doctor of the Church. The former British PM must be pleased that the pontiff has now echoed his sentiment.
During the Pope’s flight to Scotland on Thursday morning, a journalist asked the Holy Father which aspects of the late Cardinal’s personality he most wanted to emphasize. He replied with three points:
The modernity of his life, with all the doubts and problems of our lives today. His immense culture; his knowledge of the great treasures of human culture and his permanent readiness to study and renew that knowledge. His spirituality; his spiritual life and his life with God.
Then the Pope added that Newman’s figure “appears as a doctor of the Church for us and for everyone.”
To get a sense of why Newman is so avidly revered by both Popes and Prime Ministers, watch the latest episode of Catholic Focus. It airs tonight at 7 & 11 pm ET / 8 pm PT and is now available online (above).
Just hours away, S+L will bring you the live prayer vigil for Cardinal Newman at 1:15 pm ET / 10:15 am PT. Finally, we will broadcast Cardinal Newman’s beatification Mass live Sunday morning at 5 am ET / 2 am PT, repeating at 8:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm PT. All events can be watched online via our live streaming.
Related posts
Welcome to S+L’s Weekly News Round-Up. As part of my job, I come across many interesting Catholic news stories on a daily basis. Some of them I'll cover on Perspectives Daily and the others I’d li ...read more
The spiritual bond between two Francises: <br> Pope Francis and Padre Pio
FacebookTwitter
In honour of the birthday of Padre Pio, we present you with this article written by Dr. Ines Angeli Murzaku on the occasion of the pilgrimage of his major relic to Boston in 2016.  ...read more
"My bags are packed and I’m ready to go." <br> 10 Quotes from St. John XXIII
FacebookTwitter
Beginning today, the casket containing the remains of St. John XXIII will arrive in Bergamo & the town of Sotto il Monte for an 18-day pilgrimage. Here are ten quotes that give some insight into the g ...read more
St. Pope John the 23rd is on the move. This morning, a ceremony at St.Peter's Bascilica, kicked off a pilgrimage of sorts for the remains of the former Pope saint to Sotto il Monte, where he was born ...read more
Several members of the Catholic Register's Youth Speak News team came to Salt + Light TV's studio for their annual retreat and training seminar, where they learned the art of news broadcasting. Take ...read more