S+L logo

'This Winter's Eve' on Salt + Light Radio

December 17, 2011
I've made a point for the last 20 or so years to acquire a new Christmas album every year. It sort of happened by accident first; I bought some albums that I had grown up with (Bing Crosby's "White Christmas" among them) and then I continued adding to my collection. It means that today, I own over 30 Christmas albums -- and I actually own the discs, these are not downloads! Among my favourites are Michael Card's "The Promise", Crispin's "The Fresh Noel", Fr. Holung's "Caribbean Christmas" and Amy Grant's "Home for Christmas".
Sometimes it's hard to decide which album to get, but this year it was not difficult at all since Sarah Hart has a new album, "This Winter's Eve." Now, I love Sarah Hart and her music, but I'll let you make up your own mind. This year, for our S+L Radio Christmas special, I sat with Sarah for a long chat about her music, her family, her thoughts on Christmas and of course, we listen to most of the songs on her new album.
This is my gift to you, our dear S+L Radio listeners, this Christmas 2011. May the dawn break upon you, in the tender compassion of our God, shining on all who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death, and guide our feet into the way of peace.
Merry Christmas!
-
Salt + Light Radio: Subscribe on iTunes, download podcast right here or listen on The Catholic Channel on Sirius XM 129. Saturdays: 3-4pm ET (12-1pm PT), 10-11pm ET (7-8pm PT). Sundays: 2-3pm ET (11am-12pm PT).
Related posts
A survivor of clergy sexual abuse in Chile said he hopes his upcoming meeting with the Pope this weekend will be an opportunity to bring an end to the culture of abuse and cover-up among the bishops i ...read more
71-year-old Sr. Patricia Fox, has been serving the poor communities in the Philippines for 3 decades so why did the immigration bureau kick here out of the country? ...read more
As news of the tragedy spread throughout the world, Cardinal Thomas Collins issued a statement saying, “I invite the Catholic community across the Archdiocese of Toronto to join me in offering our p ...read more
To Cuba where Catholic youth received a video message from the Pope asking them to be good patriots, to love your nation, and to love your country. "Be generous and open your hearts to the Lord," the ...read more
How comfortable are you around people with disabilities? This week Orthopaedic Surgeon, Dr. Joseph Dutkowsky talks to us about his lifelong passion and his book, Perfectly Human; Gillian Kantor learns ...read more