S+L logo

Dignitaries fill cathedral to congratulate new Cardinal

February 29, 2012
As Mass began in Toronto’s Cathedral this morning, more than a few familiar faces lined the pews. The mayors of Toronto and its neighbouring municipalities were in attendance, seated alongside an MPP from the Ontario government, the provincial leader of the opposition, and the Lieutenant Governor. They came to welcome back one of their own.
It was just over one week ago that the Archbishop of Toronto was made a cardinal at a Vatican ceremony. Now back in Toronto, Cardinal Thomas Collins celebrated a Mass of Thanksgiving in St. Michael’s Cathedral. During his homily, he spoke about what the Old Testament prophet Jonah can teach us about the new evangelization.
S+L will re-air the Pontifical Mass tonight at 8pm ET / 5pm PT, repeating once more at midnight ET / 9pm PT. The broadcast begins with our half-hour Perspectives special recapping the consistory, which is streaming online above. If you would like to congratulate the Cardinal in person, the public is invited to attend a series of local celebrations being held throughout the archdiocese.

Related posts

On World Food Day today, Pope Francis asserts that more needs to be done now to help those who go hungry - and other stories. ...read more
The much anticipated Canonization Mass took place in St. Peter’s Square on Sunday, October 14. The Holy Father officially declared seven men and women as new saints of the Church. The seven who ...read more
With the Vatican’s announcement today of Cardinal Wuerl’s retirement, the Archdiocese of Washington has released a letter from the Holy Father to the cardinal, making clear his support for ...read more
All kinds of videos about the Synod are surfacing online and being shared on social media. Check out Noel's selection here. ...read more
From the synod: spiritual friends and mentors are urgently needed today - and other stories. ...read more