S+L logo

Out of the Darkness

May 6, 2012
Pornography is a societal problem, but first and foremost, it is a personal one that affects both those who buy it and those who produce it. Shelley Lubben is among the latter group. A former porn star and prostitute, Lubben's traumatic experiences in the sex industry led to post-traumatic stress disorder and substance abuse problems.
"When people watch pornography," Lubben says, "they are really watching mentally ill and physically diseased people have sex."
Lubben is among the fortunate. Through a series of events, she found God and was able to leave the lifestyle that was destroying her. She recounts her story in Out of the Darkness, a powerful, award-winning documentary produced by Anteroom Pictures. Out of the Darkness airs tonight on S+L at 8:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm PT and again at 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT. Due to the subject matter, viewer discretion is advised.

Related posts

The King Who Did Not Bow Down
FacebookTwitter
Solemnity of Christ the King, Year B – Sunday, November 25th, 2018 The liturgical year ends with the Solemnity of Christ the King. In John’s poignant trial scene of Pilate and Jesus (18:33 ...read more
Hear are some of the latest Catholic news stories from around the world making headlines today with Fr. Mathew Gworek on Perspectives Daily. (Nov. 19) ...read more
Watch S+L's Coverage of the 'Celebration of the Creation of the Holy Spirit Province' done by Fr. Michael Perry OFM on Monday, October 22, 2018. ...read more
Thomas Rosica, C.S.B., of Salt and Light TV talks about the importance of Scripture scholarship. ...read more
Pope Francis’ Homily at Mass for World Day of the Poor
FacebookTwitter
Read full text of Pope Francis' Homily at Mass for World Day of the Poor. ...read more