S+L logo

Rebels, martyrs and saints: The incredible true story of the Cristeros

May 18, 2012
On June 1 “For Greater Glory” will arrive in theatres. (The film does not yet have release date in Canada.) This much anticipated feature film captures the incredible true story of the Cristeros, courageous Mexican Catholics who rebelled against a Mexican Government that outlawed the faith and ruthlessly persecuted the faithful during the 1920’s. It’s an era buried by history, and largely unknown even by Mexicans. Yet its core theme, the centrality of religious freedom, is ever present in our modern world.
But before the film premieres, Salt + Light viewers can enjoy an exclusive behind the scenes look at the making of the movie, and the real life individuals who gave rise to this epic film. “For Greater Glory: The True Story of the Cristeros” is a 30 minute documentary that weaves together interviews with leading historians, theologians and descendants of the Cristeros, along with scenes from the film and insights from Producer Pablo Barroso, Director Dean Wright and lead actor Andy Garcia. The documentary also features the music of James Horner, the Academy Award winning composer who scored For Greater Glory.
It is not every day that a major motion picture celebrates the lives of Saints and Martyrs (among those portrayed in the film are Saint Jose Maria Robles Hurtado, Blessed Anacleto Gonzalez Flores and Blessed Jose Sanchez del Rio ). "For Greater Glory" reveals a forgotten time in history and helps restore justice and truth for a persecuted minority. As producer Pablo Barroso says, “This is more than a movie, it’s a spiritual journey.” Begin the journey this Sunday evening at 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT. It repeats later that evening at 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT, and again on Friday at 9:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm PT. (Consult the S+L broadcast schedule for more air times.)
This post was contributed by David Naglieri, former S+L producer and current manager of Media and Research for the Knights of Columbus Supreme Council.
-
Credit: CNS Photo/ARC Entertainment

Related posts

The King Who Did Not Bow Down
FacebookTwitter
Solemnity of Christ the King, Year B – Sunday, November 25th, 2018 The liturgical year ends with the Solemnity of Christ the King. In John’s poignant trial scene of Pilate and Jesus (18:33 ...read more
Hear are some of the latest Catholic news stories from around the world making headlines today with Fr. Mathew Gworek on Perspectives Daily. (Nov. 19) ...read more
Watch S+L's Coverage of the 'Celebration of the Creation of the Holy Spirit Province' done by Fr. Michael Perry OFM on Monday, October 22, 2018. ...read more
Thomas Rosica, C.S.B., of Salt and Light TV talks about the importance of Scripture scholarship. ...read more
Pope Francis’ Homily at Mass for World Day of the Poor
FacebookTwitter
Read full text of Pope Francis' Homily at Mass for World Day of the Poor. ...read more