S+L logo

Watch Canadian Archbishops receive the pallium on S+L

June 28, 2012
On Friday morning, S+L brings you the annual Mass of the Imposition of the Pallium. The pallium, a band of wool shorn from lambs blessed on the Feast of St. Agnes, symbolizes the close bond between the Pope and his Archbishops. In this liturgical celebration, held each year on the Solemnity of Sts. Peter and Paul, Benedict XVI will confer the pallium on the Metropolitan Archbishops nominated in the past year, including Canadian Archbishops Christian Lépine of Montreal, Paul-André Durocher of Gatineau, Luc Cyr of Sherbrooke, and Valéry Vienneau of Moncton. (Archbishop Vienneau will not be in Rome, but will instead receive the pallium in his archdiocese following his installation on August 29.)
S+L will air the pallium mass on Friday, June 29 at 11:00 am ET / 8:00am PT, with repeat presentations at 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT and midnight ET / 9:00pm PT, both on S+L TV and online via our website. You can follow the liturgy with the online booklet for the celebration.

Related posts

Holy Popes! Significance of the Canonization of John XXIII & John Paul II
FacebookTwitter
Read Fr. Thomas Rosica, C.S.B's reflection on the Canonization of Pope John XXII and Pope John Paul II as we celebrate the 4th anniversary of their canonization. April 27. ...read more
Concert on SL TV – How Can I Keep From Singing?
FacebookTwitter
St. Augustine wrote that “singing is praying twice”. Join the University of Notre Dame Women’s Liturgical Choir in this four-part, musical encounter with Christ featuring a varied program of sh ...read more
Priests and laity were honoured by Pope Francis in the Diocese of Hamilton on Sunday, March 4th, 2018. His Eminence, Gerard Cyprien Lacroix, Archbishop of Quebec and Primate of Canada, will confer the ...read more
Pope Francis’ Homily from Christmas Eve Mass at the Vatican
FacebookTwitter
  Mary “gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in bands of cloth, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn” (Lk 2:7). In these plain and clear words, ...read more
The following is the text of the video message sent by the Holy Father Francis ahead of his upcoming Apostolic Trip to Bangladesh, from 30 November to 2 December 2017: ...read more