S+L logo

Meet the Church's voice of justice and peace

July 18, 2012
When Pope Benedict invited Cardinal Peter Turkson to be the relator general of the 2009 Synod of Bishops on the Church in Africa, it was a sign of things to come. Days after the synod ended, the Ghanian prelate was appointed as President of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace. In the latest episode of Witness, filmed at the Vatican, Fr. Thomas Rosica speaks with one of the Church's most articulate leaders on issues of social justice, peace building, and economics. This episode of Witness, streaming online above, airs again on S+L TV this Thursday at 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT and midnight ET / 9 pm PT.
Related posts
The Vatican announced today that the Pope will once again celebrate the Holy Thursday Mass of the Lord's Supper in a prison, and will wash the feet of 12 inmates as he has done, since the beginning of ...read more
Today marks the first day of the pre-synod meetings where over 300 young people from all over the world, convened in Rome to have a frank conversation with the Pope about the future of the Catholic ch ...read more
This weekend, the Pope will make a quick trip to the town where St. Padre Pio was born and lived his life, and where his work continues to mark the year of the 50th anniversary of St. Padre Pio’s de ...read more
While church authorities in El Salvador said they would wait to give details of the Vatican-approved miracle, a Salvadoran newspaper recently published an account of a 35-year-old woman who said it wa ...read more
Salt and Light Television will carry LIVE the Episcopal Ordination Ceremony presided by Pope Francis at 12:00 pm on Monday, March 19. Please join us as we celebrate this momentous occasion for a great ...read more