S+L logo

Let's go to Church....at the Airport?

January 16, 2013
Why does the Catholic Church have a vested interest in chaplaincy at airports? Simply put, providing pastoral care for people on the move is a special concern for the Catholic Church. It is summarized in the two greatest commandments, that being "love of God" and "love of neighbour". More than that, airport ministry is a mission of proclaiming the Good News - a work of evangelization that takes place in airports around the world.
The Toronto Airport Catholic Chaplaincy has been alive and active since the 1970s - the same time the Pontifical Council for Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People was started.
Join us tonight for our newest installment of Catholic FOCUS, as we uncover several airport chaplaincies (one in Toronto, Canada and another in Chicago, Illinois.) Together, we will come to understand the impact and great service they are providing both Catholic and non-denominational travelers.
Wednesday, January 16
7:05 pm ET / 4:05 pm PT:  Catholic FOCUS - Airport Chaplaincy
Repeat: 11:05 pm ET / 8:05 pm PT
Saturday, January 19
7:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm PT:  Catholic FOCUS - Airport Chaplaincy
Repeat: 11:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm PT
-Credit: CNS photo

Related posts

Deacon-structing Sacraments | Part 3: Mysteries, Presence, and Longings
FacebookTwitter
Read the last installment of Deacon Pedro's series on Sacraments in which he discusses mystery, Christ's presence, and Sacramentals. ...read more
Why cherry-picking the Bible is not an option for Catholics
FacebookTwitter
Read what Sebastian Gomes has to say about Jeff Sessions, fundamentalism, and why Catholics today have a responsibility to be biblically literate. ...read more
Deacon-structing Sacraments | Part 2: The Ritual
FacebookTwitter
Deacon Pedro looks at the parts of the ritual that make up a Sacrament and how we understand Jesus' role in instituting them. ...read more
Deacon-structing Sacraments | Part 1: A Sign of Grace
FacebookTwitter
I guess you can’t blame Catholics if they don’t know the meaning of a Sacrament. I was a Catholic for 38 years and had received 5 of the 7 Sacraments before I really came to understand what Sacram ...read more
Deacon-structing Confirmation | Part 5
FacebookTwitter
Last week we saw what happens during the rite of Confirmation. This week, let’s wrap it up. We started off by looking at the Gifts of the Spirit. I think everyone learns about the Gifts of the Spiri ...read more