S+L logo

S+L turns over 'A New Leaf' tonight

March 7, 2013
Kelly Di Domenico from Development and Peace with staff from Caritas Niger
One week ago, we began previewed A New Leaf across the country. Within the span of seven days, our documentary was screened in Ottawa, Toronto, Winnipeg, Vancouver and Victoria. It was a grueling tour for myself and our travelling team from Development and Peace. We were joined by Fr. Isidore Ouedraogo from Caritas Burkina Faso, who got to experience many variations of the Canadian winter.
S+L has screened its documentaries before — namely, the Across the Divide Tour last year, followed by the premiere of In Her Footsteps in the Basilica of St. John Lateran in Rome. What was unique about the A New Leaf Tour is that the audience in each city largely consisted of active members of Development and Peace. This was the same grassroots network of organizers and volunteers, representing hundreds of parishes, who raised two million dollars for the Sahel Emergency Appeal. While “A New Leaf” was filmed in Niger, it is equally about the generosity of Canadians. The subject and the audience were one and the same.
Now the rest of the country gets to see A New Leaf for the first time. The documentary airs on S+L tonight at 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT and again at 1:00 am ET / 10:00 pm PT. It repeats this Sunday at those same times. The French version of A New Leaf, titled Nouvelle Pousse, debuts this Saturday at 7:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm PT and again at 11:30 pm ET / 8:30 pm PT.
Related posts
The Francis Impact in El Salvador
A reflection on The Francis Impact's experience visiting El Salvador, and their successful ban on metal mining that helped to put a stop to an environmental disaster. ...read more
Day four of the Pre-synod meetings taking place in Rome where youth from all over the world have come to talk candidly with Pope Francis about the future of the Catholic Church. The main themes from t ...read more
Oscar Romero and the legacy of Hope
(S+L Photo: TFI Director Sebastian Gomes and Cinematographer Peter Turek film in Aguilares, El Salvador on Feb 27, 2018) The crew of “The Francis Impact” traveled to El Salvador from Febru ...read more
Understanding Oscar Romero
A short reflection on Ocar Romero’s influence, legacy, and what he represents for millions of Latin Americans to commemorate his Feast Day on March 24. ...read more
A Reflection on Blessed Oscar Romero
Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB gives us a personal reflection on the Blessed Oscar Romero, Archbishop of San Salvador. "Who will Finish the Eucharist? A reflection on Blessed Oscar Romero" ...read more