S+L logo

Can Africa escape poverty?

March 8, 2013
Most of what we hear about Africa is about poverty. We hear about famine, droughts and civil war. But Africa is a continent with over 50 different countries. Poverty cannot be the reality for everyone in the whole continent!
It is true that many Africans face daily crises and hardship, but there are also signs of hope, as we recently saw in the new S+L documentary A New Leaf, which tells the story of a food crisis in Niger and the work that the Canadian Catholic Organization for Development and Peace and other agencies did to help prevent this crisis from becoming a famine.
Tonight on Perspectives: The Weekly Edition, Deacon Pedro speaks with Fr. Isidore Ouedraogo, Executive Secretary of Caritas Burkina Faso, and Kelly Di Domenico, Communications Officer for Development and Peace. Fr. Ouedraogo and Di Domenico discuss poverty in Africa, particularly the recent food crisis in the Sahel Region.
What do you think? Is there hope for Africa? Can Africa escape poverty?
Tune in tonight, Friday, March 8, or Sunday, March 10, 2013 at 7 and 11pm ET (8pm PT) and share your comments with us on Facebook. A New Leaf airs this Sunday at 9:00 pm ET /6:00 pm PT, repeating at 1:00 am ET / 10:00 pm PT.
Related posts
Today marks the first day of the pre-synod meetings where over 300 young people from all over the world, convened in Rome to have a frank conversation with the Pope about the future of the Catholic ch ...read more
This weekend, the Pope will make a quick trip to the town where St. Padre Pio was born and lived his life, and where his work continues to mark the year of the 50th anniversary of St. Padre Pio’s de ...read more
While church authorities in El Salvador said they would wait to give details of the Vatican-approved miracle, a Salvadoran newspaper recently published an account of a 35-year-old woman who said it wa ...read more
Salt and Light Television will carry LIVE the Episcopal Ordination Ceremony presided by Pope Francis at 12:00 pm on Monday, March 19. Please join us as we celebrate this momentous occasion for a great ...read more
March 13 2017, marks the four year anniversary of the election of the relatively unknown Cardinal Bergolio, from Argentina, to the Chair of St. Peter, who, as Pope Francis, has gone on to become one o ...read more