S+L logo

S+L celebrates Holy Thursday from Montreal and the Vatican

March 27, 2013
Credit: CNS photo/Enrique Garcia Medina, Reuters
On Holy Thursday, the Church reenacts two of Jesus' most powerful examples of service: the washing of the feet of his disciples, and his Last Supper with the apostles.
It's also a day when, in many dioceses around the world -- including the diocese of Rome -- the sacramental oils of catechumens, of the infirm, and holy chrism are blessed for use throughout the coming year. The blessing takes place at the Chrism Mass, which Pope Francis will lead in St. Peter's Basilica. S+L will air this mass at 9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT, repeating at 1:00 pm ET/10:00 am PT.
The Mass of Lord's Supper, however, will be a simpler, private liturgy. Pope Francis, continuing a tradition from when he served as Archbishop of Buenos Aires, is celebrating this liturgy with young inmates at the Casal del Marmo detention centre. (In the above photo from 2008, then-Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio washes and kisses the feet of a resident of a shelter for drug users.) To ensure the privacy of the inmates, the Vatican will not provide a live video signal for broadcasters.
Instead, S+L will bring you Mass of the Lord's Supper live from St. Joseph's Oratory in Montreal, Quebec. This bilingual liturgy will be celebrated by the rectory of the Oratory, Fr. Claude Grou, CSC. The mass airs at 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, repeating at 12:00 am ET/9:00 pm PT.
For broadcast times of all the events of Holy Week, visit S+L's Easter webpage.
Credit: CNS photo/Enrique Garcia Medina, Reuters
Related posts
Inside the Pre-Synod with Your Canadian Delegates
Emilie Callan, one of your Canadian delegates at the pre-synodal meeting, talks about her first day in Rome with 300 other youths from around the world. “Young people never won the Nobel prize for b ...read more
Biblical Reflection for Palm Sunday – March 25th, 2018 The Passion, suffering, death and resurrection of the Lord are the very themes that unite us as a Christian people and a Church during Holy ...read more
Gauging The Francis Impact
Read Sebastian Gomes' reflection on Pope Francis. What are his greatest accomplishments? What opportunities have been missed? ...read more
Pope Francis’ First General Audience: Open the doors of your heart
Pope Francis gave his first General Audience on March. 27, 2013 at St. Peter's Square. Let's look back at his first General Audience, as we continue to celebrate the Popes 5 Year Anniversary since his ...read more
March 13 2017, marks the four year anniversary of the election of the relatively unknown Cardinal Bergolio, from Argentina, to the Chair of St. Peter, who, as Pope Francis, has gone on to become one o ...read more