S+L logo

Where were you on 2/11?

February 11, 2014
Benedict-leaving-helicopter
A year ago, perhaps this was not the question most people asked themselves. But today we ask, where were you on February 11th, 2013, the day Pope Benedict made the historic announcement that he would be retiring?
Today, a year later we seem to have gotten used to a new Pope. It seems that Pope Francis has been pope forever, but we would not be here today, had it not been for Pope Benedict's courage.
Today let's remember Pope Emeritus Benedict, who one day will likely be named a Doctor of the Church. Let's also take stock of where the Church is today, a year later, and how much we've experienced in the first year of Francis' pontificate.

Join us tonight at 8pm ET (5pm PT, with a repeat at midnight ET and 9pm PT) for Moving Forward: From Benedict to Francis, as Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB looks back at the year that has passed, with Alicia Ambrosio, Sebastian Gomes and Cheridan Sanders, who provide excellent analysis.
The 90-minute special will repeat on
Wednesday, February 12, at 12:30pm ET (9:30am PT);
Friday, February 14 at 9am ET (6am PT)
and on Sunday, February 16 at 9pm ET (6pm and 10pm PT).

Related posts

Deacon-structing Mission: Social Justice
FacebookTwitter
What is a missionary? What is the mission of the Church? Deacon Pedro presents a perspective from the 5th Missionary Congress of the Americas in Bolivia. ...read more
Encore SLHour: Franciscan Saints, from Islam to Christ, and others
FacebookTwitter
This week, on a special edition of the SLHour, we learn all about Franciscan Saints and author Derya Little shares her conversion story from Islam to Christ. Also singer/songwriters Mikey Needleman an ...read more
Deacon-structing Sacraments | Part 3: Mysteries, Presence, and Longings
FacebookTwitter
Read the last installment of Deacon Pedro's series on Sacraments in which he discusses mystery, Christ's presence, and Sacramentals. ...read more
Encore SLHour: Cardinal Farrell and other conversations
FacebookTwitter
This week, on an encore edition of the SLHour, we speak with Cardinal Kevin Farrell, President of the Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life and we learn about the last album from the Boys of St. Paul? ...read more
Join us in prayer for the intentions entrusted to us by Pope Francis. For July 2018, we join the Holy Father in praying for: Evangelization. ...read more