S+L logo

Medically Assisted Dying: What does the Church Say?

May 25, 2016
the-joy-of-love-960x540 For the last couple of weeks we've been paying a little more attention to issues of death, dying and suffering. These will touch all of us at some point in our lives and the Church has been journeying with people through these times for millennia.
As Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide become legal in Canada, I took the opportunity while in Edmonton, to speak with Archbishop Richard Smith and asked him to explain what the Church teaches, why and what's wrong with these practices.
This conversation will air on Catholic Focus tonight, Wednesday, May 25th, 2016 at 7:05pm ET / 4:05pm PT and will repeat at 11:05pm ET / 8:05pm PT.
Hope you can join us!
Related posts
SLHour: Superheroes, Gaudete et Exsultate and other conversations
FacebookTwitter
This week, on a special edition of the SLHour, we speak with Jim Papandrea about superheroes, science fiction and Christ and we learn all about Pope Francis’ latest exhortation, Gaudete et Exsultate ...read more
Feast of St. Philip Neri, Priest
FacebookTwitter
A brief overview of who St. Philip Neri was, and what he accomplished as a Priest to commemorate his feast day - May 26th. ...read more
Read more about Amoris, a new 6-part series leading up to the World Meeting of Families (WMOF) this August airing on Salt+Light every Sunday from May 27th to July 1st at 8 PM.  ...read more
Welcome to S+L’s Weekly News Round-Up. As part of my job, I come across many interesting Catholic news stories on a daily basis. Some of them I'll cover on Perspectives Daily and the others I’d li ...read more
The spiritual bond between two Francises: <br> Pope Francis and Padre Pio
FacebookTwitter
In honour of the birthday of Padre Pio, we present you with this article written by Dr. Ines Angeli Murzaku on the occasion of the pilgrimage of his major relic to Boston in 2016.  ...read more