S+L logo

“And the desert shall bloom”
200th anniversary of the Diocese of Saint Boniface

“And the desert shall bloom”
200th anniversary of the Diocese of Saint Boniface

WATCH NOW


The Catholic Church in Western Canada is celebrating 200 years of history. Its roots are found in Saint Boniface, in Manitoba, with the arrival of the first Catholic missionaries. The land, which was first inhabited by the First Nations, attracted explorers, fur traders, Métis, and settlers from Eastern Canada and Europe. The first bishop of Saint Boniface, Joseph-Norbert Provencher, established the first mission in 1818 where the Red and Assiniboine Rivers meet. The Cathedral, which was erected later, is considered the Mother Church of Western Canada. Salt + Light Television will be on the ground to cover the events of this important jubilee. Please find our LIVE broadcast schedule below.

VIDEOS:

Étienne Gaboury’s Saint Boniface Cathedral: Building Tomorrow’s Heritage

Emilie Callan had the chance to speak to Annie Langlois to learn more about the history and the structure of this the Historical Society of Saint Boniface.

Salt + Light in Saint Boniface for Catholica 200

Our producer, Emilie Callan, is in Saint Boniface in anticipation of the 200th anniversary of the archdiocese.

Salt + Light's Broadcast Schedule:

Schedule is subject to change without notice

Ecumenical Service (Bilingual)

LIVE Friday, July 13 at 8:00pm ET / 7:00pm CT / 5:00pm PT

As part of the celebrations for the bicentennial of the arrival of the first Catholic missionaries to Western Canada, the Archdiocese of Saint Boniface is marking this joyous occasion with their brothers and sisters of other faith traditions. Archbishop LeGatt of Saint Boniface will preside at an ecumenical service in the Cathedral of Saint Boniface.

Conference with Cardinal Gerald Cyprien Lacroix

LIVE Saturday, July 14 at 3:00pm ET / 2:00pm CT / 12:00pm PT

At the University of Saint Boniface, Cardinal Gerald Cyprien Lacroix, Archbishop of Quebec City and Primate of Canada, will lead a conference called: “Walking on the Shoulders of Giants”. Many men and women dedicated their lives to the growth of the Church in Western Canada in the past 200 years. Cardinal Lacroix will bring to light their spiritual legacy.

Solemn Mass (Bilingual)

LIVE Sunday, July 15 at 11:30am ET / 10:30am CT / 8:30am PT

Cardinal Gerald Cyprien Lacroix will preside at a solemn Mass on the grounds of the Cathedral of Saint Boniface. The Eucharistic celebration takes place during a full day of festivities around the 200th anniversary of the Archdiocese. It will include commentary by Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB, CEO of Salt + Light Television.

Concert: Megwetch for Humanity (Bilingual)

LIVE Sunday, July 15 at 8:30pm ET / 7:30pm CT / 5:30pm PT

Join us for an evening concert inspired by the Seven Teachings of First Nations peoples. This concert will feature performances by Tom Jackson, Brad Roberts, Zachary Richard, Connie Kaldor, Heather Bishop, Les soeurs Campagne, Martha Wainwright, World Village Music Choir, Luc De Larochelière, and more.

Blogs and Articles

Message from Cardinal Lacroix for the anniversary the Catholic Church in Western Canada
FacebookTwitter
Read the remarks given by Cardinal Lacroix, following the Mass in thanksgiving for 200 years of evangelization in Western Canada on July 15th. ...read more
Homily by Cardinal Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, Archbishop of Quebec and Primate of Canada
FacebookTwitter
Read the official text of Cardinal Lacroix's homily at the Solemn Mass celebrating the 200th anniversary of the Catholic Church in Western Canada. ...read more

Message from Archbishop Albert LeGatt
Archbishop of Saint Boniface