S+L Newsroom
spacer image

MEDIA ADVISORY

Salt + Light Television to provide extensive live coverage
of Pope Benedict's trip to Mexico and Cuba


TORONTO, March 20, 2012 - Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation, Canada's only national Catholic television network, will broadcast complete and live coverage of the Pope's visit to Mexico and Cuba as he makes his third visit to the Americas this month.

Coverage and commentary of the Holy Father's trip will begin on March 23rd when he arrives in León, Mexico, where, on Sunday, he will celebrate Mass in Bicentennial Park. On March 26th, he then makes a historic journey to Cuba to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre."

Alicia Ambrosio, host of Perspectives Daily, Salt + Light's daily update programme, will provide exclusive live commentary throughout the Holy Father's trip. Live coverage of all the events will begin on Friday March 23rd and will continue through March 28th. For more coverage details, visit Salt + Light TV at: saltandlighttv.org/apostolic/mexico-cuba.php

Coverage Overview - Broadcast times subject to change.

Friday, March. 23

Welcome Ceremony at the International Airport of Guanajuato
León, Mexico
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT and 1:00 am ET / 10:00 pm PT


Saturday, March 24
Courtesy visit to Felipe Calderón, the Federal President, in the House of Conde Rul

León, Mexico
Live: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Repeat: 12:00 am ET / 9:00 pm PT


Greeting to the children gathered at "Plaza de la Paz"
León, Mexico
Live: 8:45 pm ET / 5:45 pm PT
Repeat: 12:45 am ET / 9:45 pm PT

Sunday, March 25

Holy Mass and recitation of the Angelus at the "Parque del Bicentenario"
León, Mexico
Live: 11:50 am ET / 8:50 am PT


Celebration of Vespers with the Bishops of Mexico and Latin America in the Cathedral of Our Most Holy Mother of Light
León, Mexico
Live: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Repeat: 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT
 
Monday, March 26
Farewell Ceremony at the International Airport of Guanajuato
León, Mexico
Live: 11:00 am ET / 8:00am PT

Welcome Ceremony at Antonio Maceo International Airport

Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Live: 3:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm PT


Holy Mass on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the discovery of the image of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre" at Antonio Maceo Square
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT
 
Tuesday, March 27
Visit to the Shrine of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre"
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
6:15 pm ET / 3:15 PT


Courtesy visit to Raul Castro, President of the Council of State, and to the Council of Ministers of the Republic at "Palacio de la Revolución"
Havana, Cuba
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT

Wednesday, March 28
Holy Mass at "Plaza de la Revolución"
Havana, Cuba
Live: 9:50 am ET / 6:50 am PT
Repeat: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT and 12:00 am ET / 9:00 pm PT


Farewell Ceremony at José Martí International Airport
Havana, Cuba
Live: 5:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm PT

-30-

* * * * *

About Salt + Light
Salt + Light is an award-winning digital network that offers a variety of programs, event coverage, documentaries and other hope-filled content.

Salt + Light is produced and operated by Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation, a charitable and leading organization in Canada, devoted to spreading the light of Christ to the world through television, documentaries, radio, Internet and other forms of social communication. For more information visit saltandlighttv.org/

Salt + Light Availability
Bell TV – 654, Rogers – 240, Cogeco – 185, EastLink – 356, Shaw – 160, Shaw Hamilton – 387, Videotron – 242, Telus – 159, Sogetel – 28

All programming is also available through live stream at http://saltandlighttv.org/live


* * * * *

Media contact:


Daniel Torchia
Director, Marketing, Communications and Development
Phone:  416-971-5353 ext 258
Mobile: 416-275-2151
dtorchia@saltandlighttv.org
Noel Ocol
Manager, Communications & Development
Phone: 416-971-5353 ext 245 Mobile: 416-888-3030
nocol@saltandlighttv.org
 
     
Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation 114 Richmond Street East, Toronto ON M5C 1P1 Canada