Trouble viewing this message? Click here.
Add communications@saltandlighttv.org to your email contacts.
S+L Newsroom
     
spacer image

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Salt + Light Television to air live coverage of the canonization of Kateri Tekakwitha and the six new saints

TORONTO, October 12, 2012 - Salt + Light Television will provide live coverage of the canonization of Kateri Tekakwitha and the six new saints by Pope Benedict XVI.
Kateri Tekakwitha was a young Christian Mohawk woman who for centuries inspired people around the world to live the Christian virtue of holiness and purity. Written accounts from Jesuit missionaries from her time have documented her virtuous life, devotion to chastity, hatred of sin as well as hundreds of accounts of miracles immediately after her death.
Salt + Light Television will cover live her canonization event live from St. Peter's Square on Sunday October 21, starting at 3:30am ET / 12:30am PT (repeated at 10:00am ET / 7:00am PT and 9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT). Coverage will include Sunday mass from St. Peter's Square where thousands of pilgrims from around the world will gather for her proclamation of sainthood by Pope Benedict XVI.
In addition, Salt + Light will broadcast the world television premiere of the documentary, In Her Footsteps: The Story of Kateri Tekakwitha exclusively on their network on October 21 at 8pm ET / 9pm PT.
This moving documentary takes viewers on a journey as they follow Kateri's incredible life of faith, sacrifice and love of Christ. The documentary also features many people who have been touched by her including the little boy who received the miraculous healing that led to her canonization as a saint.
For more information on broadcast details, the canonization, the documentary, or on Kateri herself, please visit: saltandlighttv.org/kateri


Broadcast Schedule
Sunday, October 21
Canonization Mass of Kateri Tekakwitha and the 6 new saints
3:30am ET / 12:30am PT LIVE
10am ET / 7am PT 
9pm ET / 6pm PT
Documentary Premiere: In Her Footsteps: The Story of Kateri Tekakwitha
8pm & 12am ET / 5pm & 9pm PT


- 30 -
About Salt + Light
Born on the wings of World Youth Day, Salt + Light harnesses the energy, zeal and idealism of youthful communicators to help identify, produce and share stories of hope and the teachings of the Church with the world. For more information visit: http://saltandlighttv.org/about

Salt + Light TV Availability
Rogers 240 Cogeco 185 EastLink 356
Shaw 160 Shaw Hamilton 387 Telus 159
Videotron 242 Sogetel 28 Bell Fibe 654


*** Contact Information ***      
Joshua Lanzarini
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Phone:  1.888.302.7181 ext 231
jlanzarini@saltandlighttv.org

 
 
     
Salt + Light Catholic Media Foundation | 114 Richmond Street East, Toronto ON M5C 1P1 Canada