Trouble viewing this message? Click here.
Add communications@saltandlighttv.org to your email contacts.
S+L Newsroom
     
spacer image

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Salt + Light to provide coverage of the Ordinary Assembly of the Synod of Bishops on the New Evangelization from the Vatican

TORONTO, October 5, 2012 - Salt + Light Television will provide coverage of The Ordinary Assembly of the Synod of Bishops on the New Evangelization taking place October 7th-28th at the Vatican. Salt + Light CEO Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB, has been appointed English Language Press Secretary for the Synod, and will be providing daily press briefings on the Synod from the Vatican.
The Synod is a gathering of bishops, experts, and other invited guests dedicated to the New Evangelization for the Transmission of Christian Faith. Guided by Pope Benedict XVI, the bishops are reflecting on the various topics related to the New Evangelization, while considering the many challenges and difficulties in spreading the gospel in the world today.
Beginning on Sunday October 7, Salt + Light will have coverage of the opening mass of the Synod from St. Peter's Square, starting at 10am ET / 7am PT and repeated at 8:30pm ET / 9:30pm PT.
On Thursday October 11 Pope Benedict XVI will commemorate the 50th anniversary of the opening of Second Vatican Council with mass in St. Peter's Square which can be seen on Salt + Light at 9am ET / 6am PT and repeated at 2pm ET / 11am PT. The mass will air with French commentary at 5pm ET / 2pm PT.
Finally on Sunday October 28 Salt + Light will air the closing mass of the Synod from St. Peter's Basilica, starting at 10am ET / 7am PT.
With updates from their team in Rome, Salt + Light will provide daily coverage, with interviews and reactions from those participating, in a new program called Inside the Synod, to be shown exclusively on the Salt + Light Network and its different media platforms. It will air during the Synod daily from Monday - Friday at 7:05pm ET / 8:00pm PT.
For more information on the synod, please visit saltandlighttv.org/synod


 Broadcast Schedule
Sunday, October 7
Opening mass of the Synod on the New Evangelization from St. Peter's Square
10am ET / 7am PT
Repeat:
8:30pm & 12:30am ET / 5:30pm & 9:30pm PT

Thursday, October 11
50th Anniversary of the opening of Second Vatican Council with mass in St. Peter's Square
9am ET / 6am PT: 
Repeat: 2pm ET / 11am PT
French: 5pm ET / 2pm PT

Sunday, October 28
Closing mass of the Synod on the New Evangelization from St. Peter's Basilica
10am ET / 7am PT

Monday, October 8 - Friday, October 26
Inside the Synod
Monday - Friday: 7:05pm & 11:05pm ET / 4:05pm & 8:05pm PT
French:
7:35pm & 11:35pm ET / 4:35pm & 8:35pm PT

- 30 -

About Salt + Light
Born on the wings of World Youth Day, Salt + Light harnesses the energy, zeal and idealism of youthful communicators to help identify, produce and share stories of hope and the teachings of the Church with the world. For more information visit: http://saltandlighttv.org/about

Salt + Light TV Availability
Rogers 240 Cogeco 185 EastLink 356
Shaw 160 Shaw Hamilton 387 Telus 159
Videotron 242 Sogetel 28 Bell Fibe 654


*** Contact Information ***      
Joshua Lanzarini
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Phone:  1.888.302.7181 ext 231
jlanzarini@saltandlighttv.org

 
 
     
Salt + Light Catholic Media Foundation | 114 Richmond Street East, Toronto ON M5C 1P1 Canada