S+L logo

CNS Vatican Report: An Emmy Award Winning Saint?

May 25, 2011
Two months before his death in 1979, Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen met Pope John Paul II in New York's St. Patrick's Cathedral. The two embraced, and the now Blessed John Paul II said to the legendary Catholic writer and broadcaster: "You have written and spoken well of the Lord Jesus Christ. You are a loyal son of the Church."
Today, that loyal son, took another step forward on the path to sainthood.
After the General Audience, Peoria, Illinois Bishop Daniel Jenky presented Pope Benedict XVI with two volumes -- or nearly 2,000 pages -- on the life of the late Archbishop. The documentation will now be studied by the Congregation for Saints' Causes to see if Archbishop Sheen should be recognized as having lived the Christian virtues in a heroic way.
Catholic News Service has more.
And that Emmy Award? Archbishop Sheen won it in 1952 for Most Outstanding Television Personality. In his acceptance speech he reportedly said: "I feel it is time I pay tribute to my four writers—Matthew, Mark, Luke and John." You can see repeats of his series Life is Worth Living on Salt + Light Tuesdays at 10:00am ET/7:00am PT or Sundays at 6:30pm ET/3:30pm PT.