S+L logo

The Day in Quotes: Pope Benedict XVI visits Mexico

Cheridan Sanders

March 24, 2012
Memorable quotes from Day 2 of Pope Benedict's Apostolic voyage to Mexico.
"The disciple of Jesus does not respond to evil with evil, but is always an instrument of good instead, a herald of pardon, a bearer of happiness, a servant of unity."
"He [Jesus] wishes to write in each of your lives a story of friendship. Hold on to him, then, as the best of friends."
"If we allow the love of Christ to change our heart, then we can change the world.  This is the secret of authentic happiness."
"How I would like to spend more time with all of you, but the time has already come for me to go.  We will remain close in prayer. Pray for everyone, and also for me. I will pray for all of you, so that Mexico may be a place in which everyone can live in serenity and harmony."
Greeting to the Young People gathered at Plaza de la Paz
Programming Note: Day 3 of our LIVE coverage of the Apostolic Voyage to Mexico will begin tomorrow with Holy Mass and recitation of the Angelus at the "Parque del Bicentenario" at 11:50 am ET / 8:50 am PT followed by Celebration of Vespers with the Bishops of Mexico and Latin America in the Cathedral of Our Most Holy Mother of Light at 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT.
CNS photo/Edgard Garrido, Reuters