S+L logo

What does the Good Friday collection fund?

Kris Dmytrenko

March 30, 2012
On Good Friday, the Pope asks every parish in the world to take up a collection for the Church in the Holy Land. Which raises the question, what exactly does the Church in the Holy Land do with this?
Among the most prominent Catholic institutions in the region is the Franciscan Custody of the Holy Land. Anyone who has been to there will immediately recognize the Franciscan friars — not only by their distinctive brown habits, but by their characteristically approachable presence at the holy shrines. The Franciscan Custody of the Holy Land takes care of many of the ancient pilgrimage sites in Israel, helping preserve the country’s biblical history.
Lesser known is the work Franciscans do for the Christians who live in the Holy Land. This includes providing education, housing and health care, as well as operating 29 parishes.
Next week, S+L will air a documentary that highlights the Franciscans’ 800 year presence in the Holy Land. “Hope and Healing in the Holy Land”, produced by Franciscan Media and the Franciscan Commissariat of the Holy Land, airs on Tuesday, April 3 at 11:30 am ET / 8:30 am PT and again on Wednesday, April 4 at 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT.
-
Credit: CNS photo/Emanuela De Meo, Catholic Press Photo