S+L logo

Advent Calendar 2018: Salt+Light Edition!

Count down to Christmas with a Special Gift from us each day.

1
DEC 2
2
DEC 3
3
DEC 4
4
DEC 5
5
DEC 6
6
DEC 7
7
DEC 8
8
DEC 9
9
DEC 10
10
DEC 11
11
DEC 12
12
DEC 13
13
DEC 14
14
DEC 15
15
DEC 16
16
DEC 17
17
DEC 18
18
DEC 19
19
DEC 20
20
DEC 21
21
DEC 22
22
DEC 23
23
DEC 24
X'MAS
DEC 25

CHRISTMAS TV PROGRAMS



December 24, 2018
Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring: Christmas with the Dominican Sisters of Mary
Enjoy this beautiful music to accompany you for many special Christmas memories. Recorded at the Ann Arbor Motherhouse chapel, Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring: Christmas with the Dominican Sisters of Mary is meant to share some of the Sisters’ favorite carols.

12:30am ET / 9:30pm PT

December 24, 2018
Christmas Concert at St. Bernard's Church
A variety Christmas concert at St. Bernard's Church in Toronto. Featuring classic Christmas Carols and Palestrina compositions.

1:00am ET / 10:00pm PT

December 24, 2018
Christmas Gathering: Ursuline Academy
A musical piece is performed by the Ursuline Academy High School Choral Group.

2:00am ET / 11:00pm PT
repeat: 12:30pm / 9:30pm

December 24, 2018
St. Benedict Youth Choir Christmas Concert
The Youth Choir from St. Benedict's Parish in Etobicoke, Ontario perform Christmas classics in this concert.

9:30am ET / 6:30am PT

December 24, 2018
Le Noël des prêtres (French/Français)
Au cours de cette production originale de Sel et Lumière, Francis Denis nous fait rencontrer deux prêtres et un évêque dans leur vie quotidienne durant le temps de Noël. Quotidien quelque peu transformé depuis qu'ils chantent avec Mario Pelchat et qu'ils l'accompagnent dans une série de spectacles partout au Québec.

10:30am ET / 7:30am PT
repeat: 7:30pm & 11:30pm / 4:30pm & 8:30pm on December 25

December 24, 2018
The Miracle of Christmas
The nativity story featuring music and more than 25 performers, from the Co-Cathedral of Saint Joseph.

1:00pm ET / 10:00am PT
December 24, 2018
O Come All Ye Faithful
2:30pm ET / 11:30am PT
repeat: 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT
December 24, 2018
LIVE
Holy Mass on the Solemnity of the Nativity of the Lord 2018
3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
repeat: 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT
December 24, 2018
EN DIRECT
Messe de la nuit de Noël 2018 (French/Français)
5:35pm ET / 2:35pm PT
repeat: 2:00am ET / 11:00pm PT on December 25
December 24, 2018
On Christmas Night ... A Concert With the Cantabile Chamber Singers
LUMINA features the Cantabile Chamber Singers, a group of 16-20 members dedicated to making chamber music of the highest caliber while bringing awareness to, and raising funds for, causes that impact society.

8:30pm ET / 5:30pm PT

December 24, 2018
LIVE
Christimas Midnight Mass, Hamilton
Salt + Light is proud to bring you LIVE on cable television and via our live-stream the Christmas Midnight Mass at the Cathedral Basilica of Christ the King which will be celebrated by Most Reverend Bishop Douglas Crosby, OMI, Bishop of Hamilton, on December 24, 2018.

Carols from the Cathedral:
11:30pm ET / 8:30 pm PT

repeat: 12:30pm ET/ 9:30am on Dec 25

Midnight Mass:
12:00am ET / 9:00pm PT


December 25, 2018
Johann Sebastian Bach's Christmas Oratorio
The Augsburger Domsingknaben and the Residenz-Kammerorchester Munchen perform Bach's "Christmas Oratorio" in the Sistine Chapel.

4:30am ET / 1:30am PT
December 25, 2018
Tannenbaum: Cardinal Carter's Academy in Concert
7:00am ET / 4:00am PT
December 25, 2018
Away in a Manger
From the Annunciation to the Epiphany, the beloved Christmas story is told through the eyes, words and delightful imagination of children. Away in a Manger was made in partnership with the Office of the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd of the Archdiocese of Toronto.

9:30am ET / 6:30am PT

December 25, 2018
Saint to Santa
9:55am ET / 6:55am PT
December 25, 2018
The Birth of Christ Concert in Hamilton Cathedral
In celebration of Salt and Light’s 15th Anniversary, we are pleased to present the Canadian premiere of Andrew T. Miller’s The Birth of Christ. The Cantata was recorded live at Hamilton’s Christ the King Cathedral Basilica on December 7, 2018 and is narrated by CNN’s Rosa Flores, who reads the story of the birth of Christ according to the Gospel of Luke.

1:00pm ET / 10:00am PT
repeat: 9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT

December 25, 2018
PREMIERE
MAGISTERIUM OF THE PEOPLE
The Story of the People's Pastoral from the Catholic Committee of Appalachia
The Catholic Committee of Appalachia has been listening to the cries of the poor and the earth since 1970. Three pastoral letters published over the last forty years ... read more

8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT




   The schedule is subject to change

Reflections

3rd week of Advent

by Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB

Feasts of Advent:

Our Lady of Guadalupe

by Fr. Matt Gworek

2nd week of Advent

by Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB

Feasts of Advent:

Immaculate Conception

by Fr. Matt Gworek

1st week of Advent

by Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB

Advent and Christmas in Salt and Light

Pope Francis’ Homily at Epiphany Mass
FacebookTwitter
Read the full official English-language translation of Pope Francis' homily for the Solemnity of the Epiphany of the Lord. ...read more
Deacon-structing the Twelve Days of Christmas
FacebookTwitter
As we approach the final days of the Christmas season, Deacon Pedro explores the "12 Days of Christmas" and presents an intriguing Panamanian version in honour of WYD 2019. ...read more
Pope Francis’ Homily for Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God and the 52nd World Day of Peace
FacebookTwitter
Pope Francis’ Homily for Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God and the 52nd World Day of Peace ...read more