S+L logo


From September 18th to the 23rd, join Salt + Light Television in celebrating one of the greatest spiritual thinkers of our time, Henri Nouwen.
Henri Nouwen: 20 Years Gone, Forever Remembered
Written by Joseph Sinasac, Publishing Director, Novalis Publishing
Henri Nouwen devotees everywhere will recall this day 20 years ago: It was when we heard the news that this spiritual thinker par excellence had died.

Sunday, September 18th, 2016
With Our Own Hands
8:30pm ET / 5:30pm PT
With Our Own Hands is the story of The Spirit Movers, the dance troupe of L’Arche Daybreak, composed of people of all abilities who celebrate the gift of diversity through sacred dance. Their dance reveals that people with disabilities have an extraordinary ability to express the love of God and the beauty of the human spirit. In mutual and trusting relationships, their dance is the gift of life.

Journey of the Heart: The Life of Henri Nouwen
9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT
Narrated by Susan Sarandon, this film is a thought-provoking look at the life of an unassuming, charismatic scholar considered by many of his contemporaries as one of the best and brightest minds of his time. Abandoning the insular works of academia, Nouwen embarked on a radical and personal pilgrimage of downward mobility that led him to L’Arche, a community of people with developmental disabilities. This documentary features an inspiring conversation with Nouwen shot just a year before his death. Interviews with key friends, prominent colleagues and family members help complete the picture of this unique man of faith – a person of passion and compassion.
Tuesday, September 20th, 2016
Love, Henri: The Letters of Henri Nouwen
9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT
Nouwen archivist, Gabrielle Earnshaw shares some letters written by Henri Nouwen at the Way of the Heart Conference in Toronto, June 2016.
Wednesday, September 21st, 2016
Memorial Mass and Homily for Henri Nouwen
11:00am ET / 08:00am PT
03:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT
10:30pm ET / 07:30pm PT
Father Thomas Rosica, CSB, preaches the homily and offers a Memorial Mass for Henri Nouwen on the National Catholic Broadcasting Council Daily Mass. Tune in to Salt + Light TV or our Live Stream at the above times to watch this Mass.



It's not often that we meet someone with whom everyone says is easy to speak, who's always completely present to you and who seems to understand exactly what you're feeling. That's what everyone says about Henri Nouwen, one of the greatest spiritual thinkers of our time.

Henri Nouwen was a Dutch Catholic priest. He was a professor and an author and for the last 10 years of his life, he lived here in Canada, in Richmond Hill, Ontario, at the L'Arche Daybreak community​.​

This week, as we conmemorate the 20th anniversary of his death, Deacon Pedro remembers Henri Nouwen with ​​two people who lived with ​him at l'Arche: Sr. Sue Mosteller​, CSJ​ and Joe Egan. If you want to find out more about Henri Nouwen or find out more about his books (and pick one to read), visit the Henri Nouwen Society.

Journey of the Heart: The Life of Henri Nouwen
9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT
Thursday, September 22nd, 2016
Witness with Sr. Sue Mosteller
8:30pm ET / 5:30pm PT
Fr. Thomas Rosica talks to Sr. Sue Mosteller, CSJ, about Fr. Henri Nouwen, his life, his writings and his legacy. Sr. Sue Mosteller is Sister of St. Joseph who lived and worked with L’Arche Daybreak for 31 years. She worked with Henri Nouwen and is the literary Executrix of the Henri Nouwen Legacy.... read more
The Prodigal: Deeper Into Love
9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT
Author Esther de Waal speaks about Henri Nouwen at the Way of the Heart Conference in Toronto, June 2016.
With Our Own Hands
10:00pm ET / 7:00pm PT
With Our Own Hands is the story of The Spirit Movers, the dance troupe of L’Arche Daybreak, composed of people of all abilities who celebrate the gift of diversity through sacred dance. Their dance reveals that people with disabilities have an extraordinary ability to express the love of God and the beauty of the human spirit. In mutual and trusting relationships, their dance is the gift of life.

Friday, September 23rd, 2016
Finding Home on the Inner Journey
9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT
Nouwen's friend, Sr. Sue Mosteller speaks about Henri at the Way of the Heart Conference in Toronto, June 2016.