S+L logo

The Day in Quotes: Pope Benedict Visits Mexico

March 25, 2012
Memorable quotes from Day 3 of Pope Benedict’s Apostolic voyage to Mexico.
"Certainly your dioceses face a number of challenges and difficulties at the present moment. Yet, in the sure knowledge that the Lord is risen, we are able to move forward confidently, in the conviction that evil does not have the last word in human history, and that God is able to open up new horizons to a hope that does not disappoint (cf. Rom 5:5)."
"Greater attention is due to the members of the lay faithful most engaged in the fields of catechesis, liturgical animation, charitable activity and social commitment. Their faith formation is critical if the Gospel is to become present and fruitful in contemporary society. It is not right for them to feel treated like second-class citizens in the Church, despite the committed work which they carry out in accordance with their proper vocation, and the great sacrifice which this dedication at times demands of them."
"to be human is to be a brother and guardian to our neighbour. Along this path, in union with the whole human family, the Church must relive and make present what Jesus was: the Good Samaritan who came from afar, entered our human history, lifted us up and sought to heal us."
Programming Note: Day 4 of our LIVE coverage of the Apostolic Voyage to Mexico and Cuba will continue Monday, March 26 with the Farewell Ceremony at the International Airport of Guanajuato, León, Mexico starting at: 11:00 am ET / 8:00am PT followed by the Welcome Ceremony at Antonio Maceo International Airport, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba starting at: 3:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm PT.
CNS photo-Alessia Giuliani, Catholic Press Photo