S+L logo

Francis to celebrate Corpus Christi with mass and procession

May 29, 2013
Credit: CNS photo/Paul Haring
On Thursday, the faithful will take over the streets of Rome for one of the most hallowed celebrations of the year: Corpus Christi, also known as the Feast of the Body and Blood of Christ. Following the tradition of his predecessors (including Benedict XVI, seen above), Pope Francis will mark the solemnity by presiding at mass at Rome’s Basilica of St. John Lateran. Afterwards, he will lead a solemn Eucharistic procession along via Merulana to the Basilica of St. Mary Major, where he will conclude the liturgy with benediction.
The mass and procession will air live with English translation on S+L TV and our live stream at 1:00pm ET / 10:00am PT, repeating in French at 4:00pm ET / 1:00pm PT. You can follow the prayers of the liturgy with the online booklet for the celebration.
-
Credit: CNS photo/Paul Haring