S+L logo

Henri Nouwen Film Premieres on Salt + Light

Salt and Light Media

April 28, 2016
henri_nouwen_610x343
This Sunday, Salt + Light will premiere a film on the life of one of the most significant spiritual influences of the late 20th century - Henri Nouwen. Journey of the Heart, narrated by Susan Sarandon, is a thought-provoking look at the life of this unassuming, charismatic scholar considered by many of his contemporaries as one of the best and brightest minds of his time.
Abandoning the insular works of academia, Nouwen embarked on a radical and personal pilgrimage of downward mobility that led him to L’Arche, a community of people with developmental disabilities.
This documentary features an inspiring conversation with Nouwen shot just a year before his death. Interviews with key friends, prominent colleagues and family members help complete the picture of this unique man of faith – a person of passion and compassion.
Journey of the Heart airs Sunday May 1, 2016 at 9:05 pm ET/6:05 pm PT. Repeats: Monday, May 2, 2016 at 1:05 am PT/ Sunday May 1, 2016 10:05 pm PT; Thursday , May 5, 2016 9:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm PT.