S+L logo

World Day of the Poor on S+L

November 15, 2018
A person sleeps on a sidewalk in New York City in this 2015 file photo. (CNS photo/Justin Lane, EPA)
I remember a few months ago when I heard that the World Day of the Poor  was coming up on November 18, I thought, "I didn't know that there was a World Day of the Poor. Is that a new thing?" After a little research I remembered that it is in fact a new thing.
Pope Francis instituted the day as a yearly observance in November 2016 in his Apostolic Letter, Misericordia et Misera, issued at the closing of the Extraordinary Year of Mercy.
Ring any bells?
World Day of the Poor is celebrated on the Thirty-third Sunday of Ordinary Time and was first observed in 2017.
This year it is this Sunday, November 18, and the theme is “This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him” (Ps 34:6).
It is a day when we are reminded, not just that we have a preferential option for the poor and we must care for the poor, but that we ourselves, when in the presence of God, are but poor beggars.
Earlier this month I had the chance to sit down with Fr. Pat Cosgrove, president of Chalice, a Nova Scotia-based Catholic charity that supports community initiatives in 15 countries through the sponsorship of children and elderly in need.
This Sunday, let’s reflect on how poverty is at the very heart of the Gospel, and let’s hear in the cry of the poor a call to mercy and to justice.

Join Salt and Light Television  as we reflect on the importance of our relationship to the poor in our communities and throughout the world.

Airing on Sunday, November 18 – The 2nd World Day of the Poor

Papal Mass for the Day of the Poor 2018
11:30 am ET / 8:30 am PT
WITNESS with Cardinal Patrick D’Rozario, CSC of Bangladesh
7:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm PT
Generation Hope: The Story of Mary's Meals
9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT

Also showing:

Friday, November 16
Charity Without Borders: Rescuing the Little Hearts of Manila
8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Charity Without Borders: A Dignity Rediscovered
8:30 pm ET , 5:30 pm PT
Saturday, November 17
Facing Hunger
9:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm PT
A New Leaf: Confronting a Food Crisis
10:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm PT

From the S+L blog archive:

Pope Francis' Message for World Day of the Poor