S+L logo

Coverage of the Pope's Apostolic Voyage to Benin

November 16, 2011
On Nov. 18, Pope Benedict makes his 22nd Apostolic Voyage. He travels to the country of Benin to present bishops with a special letter about the Church in Africa. Join our host Alicia Ambrosio and guest Fr. Stan Chu Ilo, who will lead us step-by-step through the Pope's entire visit. Fr. Stan Chu Ilo will offer his reflections on the Pope's Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation.
Listed below is our programming schedule for this coming weekend:
Friday, Nov. 18
City: Cotonou
Pope Benedict arrives in Benin and visits the Cathedral of Cotonou. We begin our coverage at 12:00 pm ET (9:00 am PT for those viewers on the West Coast). Join us again for a repeat at 8:00pm & 12:00am ET / 5:00pm & 9:00pm PT.
Saturday, Nov. 19
Cities: Ouidah & Cotonou
In the Courtyard of St. Gall Seminary, Pope Benedict XVI visits the tomb of Cardinal Bernardin Gantin, a close friend of the Pope and beloved son of Benin. Benedict XVI then meets with priests, seminarians, men and women religious and lay faithful gathered in the courtyard. Afterward, the Pope will visit the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception and sign the Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation on the Church in Africa. The Holy Father then returns to Cotonou, where he will visit the "Peace and Joy Centre" run by the Missionaries of Charity and greet the children of St. Rita Parish.
Our second day of in-depth coverage begins at 9:00 am ET, 6:00 am PT. We will air our repeat broadcast at 8:00pm & 12:00am ET / 5:00pm & 9:00pm PT.
Sunday, Nov. 20
City: Cotonou
Pope Benedict XVI celebrates Mass and leads the recitation of the Angelus Domini at the "Stade de l'amitié" in Cotonou. At the end of Mass, the Pope will present the Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation on the Church in Africa. He will then travel to the airport for a departure ceremony before returning to Rome.
Our final day of coverage begins at 8:00am ET / 5:00am PT.
If you are unable to follow our coverage via television, join the discussion online with S+L's Andrew Santos, who will take your questions and comments on Facebook and Twitter. We will also be posting the texts of Pope Benedict's speeches.
Credit: CNS photo/Christophe Simon, Reuters
Related posts
In just 3 days, the Pope will embark on his 22nd Apostolic journey. This time he travels to Chile and Peru where he hopes to bring a message of hope and comfort to people on the margins of society, pa ...read more
S+L’s Matteo Ciofi interviews the Ambassador of Chile to the Holy See, Mr. Francisco Mariano Fernández Amunátegui, about Pope Francis’ upcoming visit. He talks about the expectations, pr ...read more
Pope Francis Addresses Interreligious Meeting for Peace
Pope Francis addressed participants in an Interreligious and Ecumenical Meeting for Peace on Friday, which took place in the Archbishop of Dhaka’s residence on the second day of the Pope’s ...read more
Pope Francis addresses Bangladesh’s bishops
Pope Francis spoke to several bishops of Bangladesh on Friday at the Archbishop of Dhaka’s residence during his Apostolic Journey to Bangladesh. Please find below the official English translatio ...read more
Pope Francis’ homily at Mass of priestly ordination in the Suhrawardy Udyan Park in Dhaka
Pope Francis traveled to the Suhrawardy Udyan Park in Dhaka on Friday, December 1, 2017. Upon his arrival, and after greeting the faithful from the Popemobile, at 10.00 local time (5.00 am, Rome time) ...read more