S+L logo

Pope to lead final public mass before farewell

February 13, 2013
Credit: CNS photo/Paul Haring
For one last time before retirement, Benedict XVI is ushering the Church into Lent. Today the Holy Father will preside at mass to mark Ash Wednesday, during which he will bless and distribute ashes to the penitent faithful. Unlike past years, the liturgy will not be held at the Basilica of Santa Sabina, southeast of the Vatican. Instead, the mass has been moved to St. Peter’s Basilica, where a larger congregation will be able to pray with the German pontiff — perhaps for the final time, depending on whether Benedict will continue to attend public events after he steps down.
The Ash Wednesday mass will air live on S+L TV and online via our live streaming at 11:00 am ET / 8:00 am PT. The liturgy will repeat this evening at 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT and once more at midnight ET / 9:00 pm PT. An English translation of the prayers can be found in the online booklet for the celebration.
To look back on the highlights of this pontificate, visit our special Benedict XVI website. Published below are the final televised events before the Pope's retirement. Broadcast times are subject to change.
General Audience
Wednesday, Feb. 13
Italian: 9:30 am ET / 6:30 am PT
Thursday, Feb. 14
English: 2:30 pm ET / 11:30 am PT
English repeat: 10:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm PT
Ash Wednesday Mass
Wednesday, Feb. 13
English LIVE: 11:00 am ET / 8:00 am PT
English repeat: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
English repeat: Midnight ET / 9:00 pm PT
French: 4:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm PT
Benedict XVI meets with pastors of Rome
Thursday, Feb. 14
English: 9:00 am ET / 6:00 am PT
Repeat: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Angelus
Sunday, Feb. 17
12:00 am ET / 9:00 am PT
Angelus
Sunday, Feb. 24
12:00 am ET / 9:00 am PT
General Audience
Wednesday, Feb. 27
English LIVE: 4:30 am ET / 1:30 am PT
French: 9:00 am ET / 6:00 am PT
Italian: 4:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm PT
Thursday, Feb. 28
English repeat: 2:30 pm ET / 11:30 am PT
English repeat: 10:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm PT
-
Photo credit: CNS photo/Paul Haring

Related posts

Remembering Pope Benedict’s 2010 Pastoral Letter to the Catholics of Ireland
FacebookTwitter
In 2010, Pope Benedict wrote a Pastoral Letter to the Catholics of Ireland on the subject of sexual abuse. Today it remains as relevant as ever. ...read more
Do You Also Wish to Go Away?
FacebookTwitter
Read Fr. Thomas Rosica's reflection on the readings for the 21st Sunday in Ordinary Time. ...read more
Transformed By Fire: A Reflection for Pentecost Sunday
FacebookTwitter
Read Kristina Glicksman's Reflection for Pentecost Sunday: Transformed By Fire about the power of the Holy Spirit to change our lives especially during this celebration of life and transformation. ...read more
Deacon-structing Pentecost
FacebookTwitter
  We should not be afraid of the Spirit. My first experience with the Holy Spirit was when I was about 12 years old. A new associate pastor arrived at our parish that year. He was a newly ordaine ...read more
Our Lady of Pentecost
FacebookTwitter
As we approach the end of the Easter Season, we begin to prepare for the next celebration; Pentecost. But no one ever acknowledges Mary's role in Pentecost which may have been the most important of th ...read more