S+L logo

Pope reflects on temptation in penultimate Angelus address

February 17, 2013
Joined by an estimated 80,000 pilgrims, Pope Benedict XVI prayed the Angelus today from his window overlooking St. Peter's Square. In his address (translated into English in the video above), the Holy Father reflects on the temptation of Jesus in the desert. This is the second last Angelus address that the Pope will give before his retirement on February 28. The final Angelus, on Sunday, February 24, will be broadcast in English on S+L TV at noon ET / 9:00 am PT, repeating at 6:00 pm ET/3:00 pm PT. In the mean time, to look back on the legacy of the German pontiff, visit our special Benedict XVI website.
Related posts
Day four of the Pre-synod meetings taking place in Rome where youth from all over the world have come to talk candidly with Pope Francis about the future of the Catholic Church. The main themes from t ...read more
Good evening and welcome to Perspectives Daily At the Pope’s weekly General Audience today, he continued his catechesis on the Mass reflecting on the rite of Holy Communion and invited Christians to ...read more
The Vatican announced today that the Pope will once again celebrate the Holy Thursday Mass of the Lord's Supper in a prison, and will wash the feet of 12 inmates as he has done, since the beginning of ...read more
Today marks the first day of the pre-synod meetings where over 300 young people from all over the world, convened in Rome to have a frank conversation with the Pope about the future of the Catholic ch ...read more
This weekend, the Pope will make a quick trip to the town where St. Padre Pio was born and lived his life, and where his work continues to mark the year of the 50th anniversary of St. Padre Pio’s de ...read more