S+L logo

Award-winning Documentary Reveals the Modern True Story of Heroic Polish Martyr

November 6, 2014
Messenger of Truth
On November 16, 2014 Salt + Light will air Messenger of  the Truth, a film based on the life of Blessed Father Jerzy Popieluszko, the courageous chaplain of the Solidarity movement in Poland in the early 1980’s.
Narrated by Catholic activist and actor Martin Sheen, Messenger of the Truth chronicles Father Jerzy’s opposition to Poland’s oppressive Communist leaders, who harassed, arrested, threatened, imprisoned and, eventually, murdered him for speaking the truth in a country full of propaganda, oppression and social injustice.
“A must-see documentary for all who believe in the rights of religious liberty, the dignity of the human person, and those who are lovers of freedom and defenders of the truth,” says His Eminence, Timothy Cardinal Dolan, Archbishop of New York.
At Fr. Jerzy’s funeral, an estimated one million people surrounded his church in Warsaw and promised to continue his struggle for freedom through non-violence. Blessed Pope John Paul II, a son of Poland and advocate for the end of communism in his country and around the world, admired Fr. Jerzy’s courageous stand for freedom and truth. In 1987, shortly before the fall of communism in Poland, Pope John Paul II prayed at his gravesite in a remarkable sign of his support for the young priest’s life and death. Fr. Jerzy was beatified on June 6, 2010, in Warsaw and is expected to be canonized in the near future.
Messenger of the Truth was awarded first place in the documentary category at the 28th International Catholic Film Festival in Warsaw,  Poland and was awarded the Christopher Award for the category of TV documentary on May 15th from The Christophers at their 65th annual award gala in New York City.
Messenger of the Truth will air on Sunday, November 16, 2014 at 9 pm EST/ 6 pm PST.
Additional dates and times:
November 17 - 1:30 pm EST / 11:30 pm PST
November 18 - 9:30 am EST / 6:30 am PST
November 20 - 9:00 pm EST / 6:00 pm PST
November 21 - 1:00 am EST / 11:00 pm PST
November 21 - 1:30 pm EST / 11:30 am PST

Related posts

Who is my brother? Benedict, Scholastica, <br>and the Body of Christ
FacebookTwitter
Read about Benedict and Scholastica - two holy twins - and how our siblings can inspire us to carry out Jesus' great commandment. ...read more
“Verso l’alto” July 4 is the Memorial (Feast Day) of Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati. The following is the homily of Fr. Thomas Rosica, CSB, preached on Monday, July 14, 2008, during WYD Sydney at ...read more
St. Thomas More and the responsibility <br>of Christian citizenship
FacebookTwitter
Read Sebastian Gomes' article on St. Thomas More, who lived in turbulent times and is a model for the Christian citizen of today. ...read more
“To set the world at naught”: <br>Thomas More, John Fisher, and the role of conscience
FacebookTwitter
Read about St. Thomas More and St. John Fisher: two heroic saints who defied a tyrannical king and gave their lives rather than act against their conscience. ...read more
"I am not He, I prepare His way"
FacebookTwitter
John was identified with the people of Israel, and his vocation was ultimately not only the restoration of Israel but also the conversion of the world. John was the sharp-edged sword who pointed out t ...read more