S+L logo

Holy Week with Salt + Light

March 31, 2016
holy_week_with_salt_light_610x343
Join Salt + Light for Holy Week as we prepare for the coming of Christ on Easter Sunday! See below for all shows and times, beginning on Palm Sunday:

Palm Sunday

Read Pope Francis' Homily here.
Pope Francis celebrates Palm Sunday Mass at the Vatican on
Sunday, March 20, 2016 - 12:00 pm ET (9:00 am PT)

Perspectives Weekly: A Common Date for Easter?

Guest host Sebastian Gomes leads a discussion on the initiative to set a common date for Easter between the Catholic and Orthodox churches on Wednesday, March 23, 2016 -  7:05 pm ET (4:05 pm PT)
  • Repeats:
    • Wed, Mar 23, 2016 11:05 pm ET (8:05 pm PT),
    • Thu, Mar 24, 2016 7:05 am ET (4:05 am PT),
    • Sat, Mar 26, 2016 3:00 am ET (12:00 am PT)

Holy Thursday: Chrism Mass

Read Pope Francis' Homily here.
Pope Francis celebrates the Chrism Mass, remembering the institution of the priesthood, at St. Peter's Basilica on Thursday, March 24, 2016 - 9:30 am ET (6:30 am PT)

Holy Thursday: Mass of the Lord’s Supper 

Read Pope Francis' Homily here.
Pope Francis celebrates the Mass of the Lord's Supper on Thursday, March 24, 2016 - 12:00 pm ET (9:00 am PT)
  • Repeats:
    • Thu, Mar 24, 2016 7:30 pm ET (4:30 pm PT),
    • Thu, Mar 24, 2016 11:35 pm ET (8:35 pm PT)

Holy Hour from the Garden of the Gethsemane 

The Custos of the Holy Land leads a prayer service in the Garden of Gesthsemane to commemorate Jesus time in the garden before his passion and death on Thursday, March 24, 2016 - 3:00 pm ET (12:00 pm PT)  
  • Repeats:
    • Thu, Mar 24, 2016 9:30 pm ET (6:30 pm PT),
    • Fri, Mar 25, 2016 1:35 am ET (Thu, Mar 24, 2016 10:35 pm PT)

Good Friday: The Passion of the Lord

Read Fr. Cantalamessa's homily here.
The celebration of the Passion of the Lord, presided by Pope Francis at St. Peter's Basilica on Friday, March 25, 2016 - 12:00 pm ET (9:00 am PT)

Good Friday: Stations of the Cross 

Read Pope Francis' Way of the Cross here.
Closing prayer. 
Pope Francis leads the Stations of the Cross at Rome's iconic Colosseum on Friday, March 25, 2016 - 4:00 pm ET (1:00 pm PT)
  • Repeats:
    • Fri, Mar 25, 2016 8:30 pm ET (5:30 pm PT),
    • Sat, Mar 26, 2016 12:00 am ET (Fri, Mar 25, 2016 9:00 pm PT)

Holy Week: Easter Vigil 

Read Pope Francis' homily here.
Pope Francis celebrates the Easter Vigil at St. Peter's Basilica on Saturday, March 26, 2016 -  3:30 pm ET (12:30 pm PT)

The Passion of the Christ 

In Mel Gibson's version of Christ's crucifixion, based on the New Testament, Judas expedites the downfall of Jesus (Jim Caviezel) by handing him over to the Roman Empire's handpicked officials. To the horror of his mother, Mary (Maia Morgenstern), Magdalen (Monica Bellucci), whom he saved from damnation, and his disciples, Jesus is condemned to death. He is tortured as he drags a crucifix to nearby Calvary, where he is nailed to the cross. He dies, but not before a last act of grace. Airs Saturday, March 26, 2016 - 11:00 pm ET (8:00 pm PT)

Holy Week: Easter Sunday Mass/Urbi et Orbi

Pope Francis celebrates Easter Sunday Mass at the Vatican on Sunday, March 27, 2016 - 9:00 am ET (6:00 am PT) 
  • Repeats:
    • Sun, Mar 27, 2016 12:30 pm ET( 9:30 am PT),
    • Sun, Mar 27, 2016 7:00 pm ET (4:00 pm PT),
    • Sun, Mar 27, 2016 11:30 pm ET (8:30 pm PT)
Related posts
Transformed By Fire: A Reflection for Pentecost Sunday
FacebookTwitter
Read Kristina Glicksman's Reflection for Pentecost Sunday: Transformed By Fire about the power of the Holy Spirit to change our lives especially during this celebration of life and transformation. ...read more
Deacon-structing Pentecost
FacebookTwitter
  We should not be afraid of the Spirit. My first experience with the Holy Spirit was when I was about 12 years old. A new associate pastor arrived at our parish that year. He was a newly ordaine ...read more
Our Lady of Pentecost
FacebookTwitter
As we approach the end of the Easter Season, we begin to prepare for the next celebration; Pentecost. But no one ever acknowledges Mary's role in Pentecost which may have been the most important of th ...read more
Solemnity of Pentecost – Sunday, May 20th, 2018 Christian theology of the Holy Spirit is rooted in Judaism. The term Spirit translates the Hebrew word (ruah) and even in the pronunciation of it ...read more
Ascension of the Lord – Sunday, May 13th, 2018 The angels’ words to the “men of Galilee” in the first reading from the Acts of the Apostles for the Feast of the Ascension of th ...read more