Apostolic Journeys   Pope Benedict's Apostolic Voyage to Mexico and Cuba

 To view this video you need the latest version of Flash Player

Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation, Canada's only national Catholic television network, will broadcast complete and live coverage of the Pope's visit to Mexico and Cuba as he makes his third visit to the Americas this month.

Coverage and commentary of the Holy Father's trip will begin on March 23rd when he arrives in León, Mexico, where, on Sunday, he will celebrate Mass in Bicentennial Park. On March 26th, he then makes a historic journey to Cuba to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre."

Alicia Ambrosio, host of Perspectives Daily, Salt + Light's daily update programme, will provide exclusive live commentary throughout the Holy Father's trip. Live coverage of all the events will begin on Friday March 23rd and will continue through March 28th.

 
Listed below are the planned public events of the visit. Broadcast schedule subject to change.

Friday, March. 23
Welcome Ceremony at the International Airport of Guanajuato
León, Mexico
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT and 1:00 am ET / 10:00 pm PT
French: 7:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm PT

 

Saturday, March 24
Courtesy visit to Felipe Calderón, the Federal President, in the House of Conde Rul

León, Mexico
Live: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Repeat: 12:00 am ET / 9:00 pm PT


Greeting to the children gathered at "Plaza de la Paz"
León, Mexico
Live: 8:45 pm ET / 5:45 pm PT
Repeat: 12:45 am ET / 9:45 pm PT

Sunday, March 25
Holy Mass and recitation of the Angelus at the "Parque del Bicentenario"
León, Mexico
Live: 11:50 am ET / 8:50 am PT
French: 3:30 pm ET / 12:30 pm PT


Celebration of Vespers with the Bishops of Mexico and Latin America in the Cathedral of Our Most Holy Mother of Light
León, Mexico
Live: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT
Repeat: 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT
 

Monday, March 26
Farewell Ceremony at the International Airport of Guanajuato
León, Mexico
Live: 11:00 am ET / 8:00am PT
French: 1:00 pm ET / 10:00 am PT

Welcome Ceremony at Antonio Maceo International Airport

Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Live: 3:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm PT


Holy Mass on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the discovery of the image of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre" at Antonio Maceo Square
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 12:30 am ET / 9:30 pm PT
French: 8:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm PT
 

Tuesday, March 27
Visit to the Shrine of the "Virgen de la Caridad del Cobre"
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
6:15 pm ET / 3:15 PT
French: 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT


Courtesy visit to Raul Castro, President of the Council of State, and to the Council of Ministers of the Republic at "Palacio de la Revolución"
Havana, Cuba
Live: 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
Repeat: 9:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm PT

Wednesday, March 28
Holy Mass at "Plaza de la Revolución"
Havana, Cuba
Live: 9:50 am ET / 6:50 am PT
Repeat: 8:00 pm ET / 5:00 pm PT and 12:00 am ET / 9:00 pm PT
French: 1:00 pm ET / 10:00 am PT


Farewell Ceremony at José Martí International Airport
Havana, Cuba
Live: 5:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm PT
French: 6:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm PT




 
 
 
email updates
Salt and Light Catholic Media Foundation would like to send you emails about our programs, publications, special offers, and Foundation updates.
Email
First Name
Last Name